In Rapid Pursuit

I don’t get it!

Posted on: June 24, 2008

Hunger is a problem I just don’t understand.

I know that might sound like a crazy statement, but I really don’t.  I don’t understand that, if you knew someone hungry, you could let them go without.  I don’t understand how you could let children starve while you throw away scraps of food at every meal.  I don’t understand how you can eat out every meal without making any sacrifices to help the people you know.

Here’s the deal.  I do all of that stuff.  And, I don’t know anyone hungry.

I am beginning to think that the problem is not money or people being willing to sacrifice.  Maybe the problem is we don’t KNOW anyone that is hungry.

Maybe the problem is that we are not aware of things in people’s lives the contribute to their hunger.  Maybe there is a part of the world that is in crisis and we don’t know it.  For me, that’s another part of the problem.

I didn’t know much about the Global Food Crisis that I have heard about on the news.  In a nutshell, the rising cost of food is causing many people who survive on just $1 a day to spend upwards of 80% of their budget on food.  You can get more information about it here.

Now, here is the tricky part.  Once we KNOW, what do we do?

Compassion International has started a fund to help alleviate this problem.  This fund will go to purchase food vouchers for those in need.  It will also be used to purchase seeds and agricultural tools to help families provide food for themselves and produce extra income.  It will also provide supplemental nutritional services at Compassion-assisted centers.

Now that we KNOW, what will we do?

Compassion International is hosting a day of fasting and prayer tomorrow.  If you can’t help financially, please commit to joining me and thousands of others while we honor the victims affected by this crisis and pray for them.

Now that we KNOW, what will we do?

You can donate here.  You can be a part of Compassion International’s day of fasting and pray by getting information here.

Now that we KNOW, what will we do?  Now that I KNOW, what will I do?

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

