In Rapid Pursuit

Christian Music and the PoPo

Posted on: November 14, 2007

I got to see my friend Brody yesterday!  If you haven’t checked out his blog, you should.  He is on tour with Phil Wickham, The Myriad, and the David Crowder Band.  So, that’s who I hang out with yesterday. . . .not to name drop!  I pretty much expected to hang with Brody for a bit, maybe grab a bite to eat, and then go to the concert.  But, I got to spend the day with him and it was so good to catch up on the tour and what has been going on in his life.  I love that he is so devoted to his wife and his kids.  That, I think, makes touring hard, though.  But, the end is drawing near.  It was fun to talk about possibilities for the future and to just catch up!

 The concert was AMAZING!  If you haven’t checked out Phil Wickham’s music, you should.  He has the most crystal clear voice.  It was so nice to hear new, creative, and innovative music coming from the Christian music scene.  So, often, I think, we get caught in the simplest of melodies with the most cliche words. 

The Myriad. . . .loved them, simply put.  They are getting some secular attention on MTV2 as well, so check them out and vote.

And the David Crowder Band did not disappoint!  I left reminded of just how talented these guys are. . . .freakishly talented, I might say.  I don’t know that anyone could reproduce any of their songs and give them justice, but I left wanting to do a whole Crowder set of music.

So, after hanging out a little after the concert, we were driving home and came upon the drunkest or sleepiest truck driver I have ever seen.  It was so crazy that we called the police.  Now, let me just say. . . if you want to speed, the stretch on I-40 from exit 274 until the I85/I40 merge is the place to do it.  We called the police at about mile 274.  They did not have a policeman in the area until the merge. . . .that’s about 16 miles.  It was crazy!  I was sure that someone was going to get killed, possibly us.  We went from 70 mph to 50 mph, at times, just to stay behind this guy because we were too afraid to pass him.  He was in all 3 lanes, almost took out a couple of cars, a median, another truck, and a bridge.  It was pretty scary!  When the cops finally pulled him over, they asked us to pull behind them, but we were quickly let go after they said they saw enough erratic driving not to need us to help.

 So. . . .that was my night.  Hopefully, I can upload some pictures, but I have to figure out how to get them in this blog, first.  Did you know I was pretty much computer illiterate????  Anyways, what did you do last night?

1 Response to "Christian Music and the PoPo"

Hi Tracy,

I am glad you are alright. Thanks for the Phil Wickham link, I am enjoying his music. Have a good night and I like your new T-shirt. I was wondering
where got it. (Ha, Ha)

Joan

Leave a Reply

