In Rapid Pursuit

Presents and parenting

Posted on: December 2, 2007

Parenting has got to be the hardest job in the world.  How do I know this, you might ask, when I don’t have any children.  Well, those of you who know me well know that I have three nieces, two of which I am pretty close to.  That means that, over the years, I have taken much of the financial responsibility for them.  They don’t live with me, but I would love for the oldest to move in today (long story!!).  So, here’s the dilemma. . . .

 In the past, I have pretty much gotten them major gifts.  That doesn’t always mean expensive, but always something they really wanted.  The best, actually, was when I got them and myself season passes to Carowinds.  We used to go almost every weekend, over an hour away.  Now, however, they are getting older.  They are living in a house where they are not made to take care of anything.  They don’t clean up.  The house is such a mess that I have found many clothes that I have purchased them hanging in the closet or in the bottom of a drawer with tags on them because they couldn’t get to them.  SO. . . . WHAT DO I DO?????

 This was the year that I was going to take them on a trip.  The time spent together is much better than anything else I could give them.  However, I don’t think I am willing to take the money away from my “get out of debt plan” to take them.  And, they are getting to the age where they may be a little too cool for anyone over the age of 15.

 The main thing, however, for me, is that I am finding it hard to keep my negative feelings about the way their mother is raising them to myself.  And, I have always done that.  I hope I always can.

So, for today, I am reminding myself how hard parenting is.  And, I am hoping that she asks for the help she needs.  And, I am struggling over presents!!!

1 Response to "Presents and parenting"

Hi Tracy,

I know how you feel I have a brother who is in prison
now and his children are living with my mother. We
currently do not know where their mother is. My niece
has a baby who is very sick and probably now live to
see age two. But I feel that God has brought this
child in our life for a reason. I know this is all pretty heavy stuff, and probably really does not help you with your problem. However just pray for them, love them and be a safe haven for them when they may need it. As, for the presents how about gift card to some movie theaters, the three of you can always enjoy a movie or two.

Your buddy, Joan

Leave a Reply

