In Rapid Pursuit

Go to fullsize imageThe good neighbor looks beyond the external accidents and discerns those inner qualities that make all men human and, therefore, brothers.
Martin Luther King Jr., ‘Strength to Love,’ 1963
US black civil rights leader & clergyman (1929 – 1968)

It took me a long time to find a picture to use for this post.  Martin Luther King has long been a person I admire, but one of a little mystery to me.  He must have been so complex.  To effect change and lead people in such a way, his mind must have been full of thoughts and dreams.

 I love this quote, because, for me, that is what Christianity is about.  Loving people, no matter what the differences are.  I mean, that’s where we should start, right?  Imago Dei?  It seems we could take a lesson from Dr. King.  But, we can’t only say it, we have to do it.

I am still challenged by his words today.

Leave a Reply

