In Rapid Pursuit

Reminders

Posted on: February 9, 2008

dscf0614.jpgBrooke is my niece.  She is really nothing like me, except she likes the Tarheels.  She loves to cook and sew.  She gets that from my Mom.  This year, she made all of us stockings for Christmas.  She literally bought a pattern, cut them out, and made them on the sewing machine she got for Christmas last year.  I am envious of this quality.  All things domestic are way beyond me.  It’s not that I don’t want to know how to do them, but it almost seems a waste of time to cook a big meal when you live by yourself.

Tonight, however, Brooke did a little something like me.  Our pastor is in the middle of a sermon called “The X Factor.”  It is all about what things would look like if you went an extra mile.  Tonight was about family.  So, we had families sing together and Brooke made her debut as a vocalist.  She did a great job!!!

This probably doesn’t seem like a big deal to some of you, but to me, it is huge.  Brooke has not had the easiest life.  Her family is very fragmented and has been more than crazy at times.  But she and Sierra, her sister, have found a place, at times, at my church.  That’s because there is always someone who is going out of their way to include them.  Someone who is helping pay for them to go to camp.  Someone who is making sure they feel like they belong.  It’s a big deal.  Tonight, Brooke felt like she belonged.  Tonight, Brooke got to see why I love singing in church so much.  She began to understand why I love the people and why I am willing to give up so much of my time to be there.

God is using Brooke in so many ways.  I was reminded tonight to appreciate that.  My brother, her Dad, came to church for the first time since we were living at home.  That’s a long time.  He came to hear her sing, but he heard a message on what family would be like if we all went the extra mile.  He learned what his responsibility as a parent is, while Brooke learned about being a better kid.

Tonight I am reminded to thank God for my family!  I am reminded that, even during the crazy times, he can use all of us.  I am reminded that he can use even a child to make a difference.  Thanks for the reminder!

2 Responses to "Reminders"

Hey Tracy,

Thanks for reminding me that no matter how crazy things
get with our familes with God’s help all things are possible.

Also tell Brooke what a great job she did this weekend, I
think she smile said it all

[…] read about Brooke.  She did an awesome job singing this weekend.  But, it goes deeper than that.  When Shaun was […]

Leave a Reply

