In Rapid Pursuit

Do I care?

Posted on: February 11, 2008

I don’t know who I am voting for.

I don’t really care who you are voting for.

Now that this is out of the way, something is really bugging me. I have had two conversations with people who I love and trust, who are on staff at a church, who say they are not voting for Hilary Clinton simply because she stayed with her husband after the Monica Lewinsky thing.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

When did we learn the personal details of their marriage? When did it become OK for us to make judgements based on what we know from the media? When did it become OK to give up on marriage?

See, I used to be one of those people who thought she should leave her husband. It didn’t matter, to me, that the vows said “until death do us part.” But, it does now. I am not saying there is never a time that a divorce should happen, but who are we to say what the answer was for them. What happened to applauding them for working on their problems and staying committed to one another?

So, you can vote for who you want. But, please vote based on their platforms and voting records. Don’t vote based on your judgement of their personal lives.

1 Response to "Do I care?"

very well said…i guess you know my political leanings, since i kinda let that cat out of the bag, but i agree with you on why we should vote for who we vote for.

Leave a Reply

