In Rapid Pursuit

Wrecked

Posted on: February 16, 2008

Have you guys been following the Compassion International blogging trip to Uganda?  Come on, don’t let me down!  I know you have.

I have been wrecked.  You see, I am trying to come to grips with God’s plan for my life.  Aren’t we all?  And, I know that his plan may not include marriage or kids.  And, most days, I am OK with that.  But, I saw this picture and I don’t think I could have left this little girl behind.

 

That’s Heather Whittaker holding the little girl.  I haven’t met Heather, but I read her blog every day.  It’s a long, tangled, blogging web.  But, I got introduced to her husband, Carlos’, blog through Shaun Groves.  I actually did meet Carlos at Catalyst last year.  I am sure he hasn’t forgotten it.  LOL!!  Anyways, back to the point.

That little girl is the most beautiful thing I have seen.  Her eyes show a depth that it is rarely seen.  It makes me wonder what she has experienced in her few years.  This picture opened up feelings that I didn’t even know I had.  It is why I haven’t blogged much this week.  There is so much going on in my head about what I am supposed to do with my life.

There are a couple of things that have become clear, though.  I know that the $64 dollars I pay each month are truly making a difference in the lives of Bertha, in Ecuador, and Nyamai, in Kenya.  I know that I have to get out of debt.  With my debt, I might could cure poverty in one of these countries!  So, I have to get out of that so I can give more away and do more.  I think I knew that already, but because of this trip to Uganda, there is more of an urgency. 

It has become much more clear to me what it means to the the hands and feet of Jesus.  See, those aren’t just nouns.  They require some action.  They require movement on my part and on yours.  I hope something has been stirred inside of all of you as well.  I hope many of you have sponsored children.  Have you???

This video is one that Carlos Whittaker made.  That’s Shannon meeting the child she sponsors.  This is what being the hands and feet of Jesus is about.  This is building the foundation for the kingdom right here on earth.  This is what $32 a month can do.

So little for so much.  Sponsor a child today!

Update:  If you want to read some cool stories of other people who have sponsored children, check out my friend, Shaun’s blog.

 

2 Responses to "Wrecked"

This little girl does have amazing eyes….I wonder what she has seen and/or heard that no child should ever have to see or hear. She is so tiny and precious….I hope that she has a sponsor already….if not, she needs one.

Sometimes it is so hard to sit back and wait for what God has in store for us….waiting (patience) is a difficult concept to handle, especially when we are ready to get moving. Before i had children, i had very very very little patience and now I think that actually is one of my stronger points….Sometimes!!

I do think that this Compassion trip has been amazing for lots of people….I have also thought about sponsoring another child…what is $32/month??? Less than one night of eating out for our family of 5…..Sad, but true. I want to get all 3 girls involved in chosing another child and let them contribute to the fund each month….It is hard for any age child to actually think about someone not having a bicycle much less running water…..These blogs have helped me realize that i need to teach my own family to be more appreciative of what we have and that we need to help those who are less fortunate.

Thanks for your blog girl – I really do enjoy coming here to get a dose of someone else’s reality.

Thanks Cissy! The patience thing is something I am still working on. . .it’s a process!

I have been surprised at how both of my nieces have been totally consumed with raising money to give to their new sponsor kids. It has been a great journey! I believe it will change our family, as I am sure it will yours!

Leave a Reply

