In Rapid Pursuit

School’s In!

Posted on: February 24, 2008

I am trying to understand hopelessness.

I don’t think I can even wrap my mind around this.

I give money to people on the street asking for it.  It is not about what they are going to do with the money.  Quite frankly, I don’t care.  But, I can’t imagine what their life would be like that they would result to begging.  I mean, they can’t have any pride or self-esteem.  To totally depend on the kindness of others. . .can we really do that?

I am realizing that we don’t lack compassion.  We lack understanding.  I mean, how can we help solve a problem if we don’t relate to it?  How can we debate health care, poverty, abortion, or war if we haven’t experienced it?  Don’t we have a responsibility, in community, to try to understand each other?

 It’s time I start working on this.  It’s time I start to really appreciate the differences that I have with people.  It’s time for me to get to know people better.  It’s time for me to really LISTEN to my patients and not just hear them.

1 Response to "School’s In!"

I know what you are thinking. That is the problem. It’s hard to walk in someone else’s shoes, without literally doing that, seeing it up close, or really really hearing to your core. It’s so easy for me to so quickly forget all the needs around me and in the world.

Leave a Reply

