In Rapid Pursuit

So many questions!

Posted on: March 1, 2008

Do you ever wonder why you go to church?

I have so been struggling with this question for a long time.

Now, don’t panic. I don’t question God. But, there are more days than not that I question the church and what we have made the church.

Tonight I was reminded of what it was like to be new to the church. I remembered what it was like to feel like the church was so new and different than what it was when I was growing up. I remembered the excitement of feeling free to worship a God who truly wanted a relationship with me. I remembered when all of this was new.

Now, it’s not. And, I am not saying that is bad. This is just not a place I expected to be in.

I am part of a learning group that is really stretching me, in a great way. We have been talking about stages of faith as we develop as Christ followers. I don’t have any answers, but I certainly have more questions. I LOVE THAT!!

As we have seen a need, in the church, to reach the “lost” and those that are far from Christ, it has impacted every decision that we have made. Our services are designed for these people. The music is picked with them in mind. The offering is taken up reminding the guests that this is not something we expect them to participate in. We have cards to fill out so that you can get connected and get your free gift.  We think about our videos and music selections and if the are “relevant.”

OK. . .I am not saying any of this is bad. Truthfully, I don’t think it is. But, where does that leave people who aren’t new to Christ and the church. I mean, I know we have a responsibility to be a mentor, of sorts, to people who are new to this relationship with God. But, is there a place for those who aren’t new to this? Have we forgotten those people and left them on their own?

Tonight, I am wondering if those aren’t the people we are losing. I don’t mean losing to another church, although I am positive that is happening. I am wondering if their relationship with God is suffering.

As we have made these decisions to be “seeker friendly” churches, did we forget to mention along the way that, at some point, you are further along in the journey? And, that is not always a joy ride. It’s a lot of work. The honeymoon phase fades and then you are on your own. Oh yea. . . .and don’t forget, while you are struggling through this, you have to help someone new to the faith.

Tonight, I am asking. . . . how do we all fit together? Do we all fit together? What can the church do to make this happen?

Leave a Reply

