In Rapid Pursuit

Brutal Honesty!

Posted on: April 3, 2008

I love having good friends, but sometimes that can come with some tough blows.  Tonight was one of those nights.     

I went out to celebrate my birthday with a couple of my friends.  (I know my birthday was last week, but I am pretty sure it is legal to celebrate for a month, so back off!!)  One of my friends is beginning a new relationship and there are some issues with the guy.  Let’s leave it at that.  But, they exist.

  

So, we asked her about them tonight.  Now, by “we”,  I mean the other girl that was with us.  I pretty much sat there stunned that she even brought it up.   Well, it went over like a ton of bricks.  I am pretty sure there were things said like, “Don’t through stones at my relationship when your marriage has issues,” and “I am not going to defend any of this,” and “I don’t have to justify anything I do.”   

 

Sounds fun, huh?!? For me, however, I loved it.  I love friends that can be brutally honest with you.  And, that is what happened.  It was totally done out of love and it took a lot of courage.  

 

I have thought a lot about what I need from my friends and if I am a good friend or not.  I am realizing that I need friends that can love me.  Sometimes that love is tough and I don’t like it.  I need friends that will let me be honest with them.  I need friends who want my opinion and aren’t afraid to need me at times.  I certainly will need them at times. It’s hard to be authentic.     

 

Tonight we were.  It rocked! 

1 Response to "Brutal Honesty!"

Hi Tracy,

first of all my family has always celebrated birthdays the
whole month.

second it is good to have friends that keep us real and say
things we need to hear, not always what we want to hear.

rock on girlfriend

ps the surgery went well and I will see you this weekend

Leave a Reply

