In Rapid Pursuit

My job rocks . . . most days!

Posted on: April 7, 2008


So, today the kids were out of school. Normally, that makes for a little busier lunch when I go out and a few extra kids on the schedule, but nothing major.

NOT TODAY! My entire schedule, except for 1 person was kids. And, by kids, I don’t mean the 13 – 18 year old. I am talking mostly 4 – 8 years old.

I never look at my schedule in advance, but last week, I did. I think it was because I worked a little on Saturday. MISTAKE! I have been dreading today all weekend.

Here’s the funny thing. It was amazing. We didn’t have one tear shed. No one complained. Everyone sat perfectly mesmerized by The Backyardigans and Dora the Explorer. No one said “Nothing personal, but I hate the dentist.”

I never realized how much of a difference a positive day makes. Don’t get me wrong. Fear of the dentist is a very real thing. And, I don’t take that personally. But, it was nice to know that I can still give a painless shot. I can still make someone happy. I can still work quickly while someone is wiggling!  I can start to make that fear of the dentist totally disappear in a younger generation!

Today, my job was awesome. That is, until 5:05. More to come!

Leave a Reply

