In Rapid Pursuit

Being an adult is not fun!

Posted on: April 21, 2008


Why is it that, as adults, we aren’t as creative as kids?

That’s a question we talked about for a while at our youth group last night and it struck me as so interesting.

As kids, our imaginations run wild. We write the craziest stories and draw the craziest pictures. And, we are so proud of them. We are not afraid to try different types of creative things. We write, draw, paint, color, sing, play and instrument. . . you get the point.

Somewhere along the way, however, our creativity becomes stifled.

They start to rank us in order or skills if we play an instrument. Our writing is for a grade and not for fun. Our painting is critiqued by an art teacher. We have to audition for the school play.

As I look back on things, I have been creative my whole life. And, as I lead worship and help with the weekend services I still try to be creative. But, it is stifling! Adults aren’t aloud to dream big. We aren’t allowed to even think about the “what ifs” without our ideas being thrown down.

It’s sad, really.

That’s one of the things I love about working with our youth pastor, Jarm Turner. No matter how big, crazy, or expensive your idea is, his initial reaction is usually “How can we make that work”? That’s awesome!! Now, some of these dreams might not ever make it to reality, but the fact that he gives you the space to see if they can is so valuable!

How creative do you feel in your life? Is there someone that let’s you dream big, paint messy, color with crayons or sing at the top of your off-pitch voice?

2 Responses to "Being an adult is not fun!"

My eight-year-old niece lets me do all those things. I think she’s my little carbon copy and she reminds me what’s it like to be a kid. We have a great time doing the silliest things. I went to visit with her tonight, but it was bath time. We were trying to hurry and get her bath so we could play, so I washed her to save time, and she squealed with delight as I was washing her feet saying, “This little piggy went to the market…” I think we wasted more time than we saved because I ended up washing her feet about times each! I could on and on about the silly stuff we do….

oops…Should have said about five times each.

Leave a Reply

