In Rapid Pursuit

I need a break!

Posted on: May 15, 2008


I have been gone for a while. DUH!!! You see, I need a break. I mean a real break. Not one of those “go-away-for-work-or-church” kind of breaks. I mean a vacation.

I am getting that this weekend, sort of!

My cousin is getting married and I am staying at the beach. It is going to be tons of fun and relaxation. Just what I need.

Now, never mind that I never thought my cousin that is 15 years younger than me is getting married before I am. I am not obsessing over that. No sir, not me. I am going to enjoy it!

I had a hard week last week. So hard, in fact, that I am not sure that I want to lead worship any more. I am not sure that is what God is calling me to do.

And, I am wondering how we are ever sure. I mean, this would be a lot easier if God would just ring my mobile and give me a clue!

That’s just it. God has been gently sending me signs that this might not be it. And, last week, he sent me a huge one. So, now I am trying to figure out if that is what that meant or if it was just someone who is unhappy with life trying to make everyone else that way.

I learned tons, though. I learned that I hope, in life, I am constructive with my criticism, not destructive. I learned that friendship means more to some people than to others. I learned that you can still have fun when there are shadows lurking. I learned that I love teenagers and kids.

So, there’s a lot to sift through. And, I plan to plant myself right in the middle of that lovely picture with a glass of wine and do just that. Sift through my stuff. Wonder how long that will take?!?

1 Response to "I need a break!"

Tracy, for what it’s worth. i truly believe you are a great leader in our church, and welcome your leadership in the worship arts team. I for one would truly miss you leading us. You have inspired me with Bible passages, prayers, and especially with your vocal talents. I’m praying for you that God will use you in whatever his will is for you. I’m also kind of selfish and asking God to make sure it’s in our worship arts leadership section! He knows I’m selfish like that. If you ever need to chat, I can be a great listener. Hit me up sometime.
~Shawn~

Leave a Reply

