In Rapid Pursuit

Catching up. . . ARGH!!

Posted on: May 20, 2008

OK, as much as I loved my vacation, the catching up sucks!  I mean, how long can it take to respond to emails, read blogs, and visit all my favorite sites?  TOO LONG!!  But, it is done.  And, I am so bummed that I missed the most exciting thing ever!  EVER!!!

 

The Compassion Bloggers site went live sometime this weekend or late last week.  I can’t believe I missed it.  But, there is lots to say now.

 

So, this site is the project of my friend, Shaun Groves.  OK, maybe it’s a job.  Not sure exactly what to call it, but he is responsible!  And, I can’t wait to see what a difference it makes.  It is a way for those of us who blog to help make a difference in the lives of children around the world.  (Leave out all of the smart comments you want to insert here about my lack of regular visits to this here blog!!)

 

I have had that little Compassion International widget on my sidebar for a while now.  And, as far as I know, only one person has sponsored a child that way.  Now, I am going to chalk that up to the fact that most of the people who read this probably already sponsor a child.  That’s great!  Use that widget as a gentle reminder to write your kid. . . it makes a difference.

 

And, if you haven’t sponsored a child, what are you waiting for???

 

So, not only did the website go live this weekend, but we also had our Inside Out weekend at church.  Last year Shaun talked about Compassion International and tons of kids were sponsored.  We also raised tons of money to build an orphanage (or 2) and tons of projects were completed around town.  This year, the same was accomplished, substituting $40,000 to build wells in Africa by our youth instead of the orphanage.  (Our youth amazes me. . . on a side note!)

 

We also had an opportunity to showcase some of the ministries near and dear to our heart.  Now, keep in mind, there was not “air time.”  Just tables set up outside for people to browse.  So, some dear friends of mine set up a table for me to try to get some kids sponsored and they were successful in doing that for 3 kids.  AMAZING!  I didn’t expect that, really.  So, thanks Dave, Joan, Nann, and David.  Your selfless hearts never cease to amaze me!

 

As stories come in, I will try to keep you updated.  I was bummed to miss this weekend at church!  I am excited that our church is trying to flesh out what it means to be a blessing.  I can’t wait to see how the journey continues.

1 Response to "Catching up. . . ARGH!!"

Hi Tracy,

Dave and I just wanted to let you know that you gave us the
blessing this weekend. Dave has a special place in his heart
for kids(maybe because he is a big kid). But the real story
is the kids who wanted to help other kids, the little girl
who wanted to give us $10.00 of her own money for
her new adopted sister, that is what Compassion is all
about. thank you for your friendship and the fact that
we get to service with you most weekends.

Leave a Reply

