In Rapid Pursuit

Back in the saddle again!

Posted on: June 16, 2008

I wrote this really cool post last night about my trip to Nashville.  Trust me. . . it was awesome.  Then, I went to hit save and it only came back with the title.

Who knows?  I will take full responsibility because of my limited computer knowledge, but I just thought I knew hot to save.  Apparently no.  So, now you get the cliff notes version as I am back, busy at work!

(No smart comments on the fact that I am so busy at work that I have time to write a blog post!)

The first highlight of the trip. . . hanging with Kristin and Brody and their family.  Their family includes Randy, now, so it was nice to finally meet them.  Their kids are so well behaved and it is always fun to catch up with them.  I find myself looking forward to the next time I see them every time I leave!

The second. . . the Grand Ol’ Opry!  I loved that!  I am not this huge country music fan, but the people I went with are.  So, I was along for the ride.  I was so pleasantly surprised.  There is something so nostalgic about that place.  The music was cool. . . Marty Stewart is amazingly talented!!

The funny thing about being at the Opry was this group that performed called the Carolina Chocolate Drops.  They have a mentor, Joe Thompson, that is said to be the last surviving black traditional string player.  How ’bout he lives in Mebane, NC!?!  It was so weird to be sitting there and hear someone mention our hometown. . . tiny little Mebane.  Why don’t I know Joe Thompson??? You should totally check out their music. They were amazing performers!!

Anyways, I am back at work and am finding myself loving Nashville more every time I am there.  I can’t wait until the next adventure!!!

4 Responses to "Back in the saddle again!"

Would love to go to the Opry but would have to really pull Bob hard to get him to agree! Never think about myself as being a country music fan, but have always loved the ballards and story songs. Hey – I just like music – any kind (well, I struggle with rap and hip hop) So glad that you had more time in Nashville – these trip always seem to energize you. I believe that they also confirm that one part of your life that is a passion for you – music. Awesome!

Forgot something in the last post – need to know if you really needed all those pairs of shoes! You see I am not a shoe person and struggle to understand other people’s (like my daughter) fancination with shoes! Did you wear all the pairs?

I’ve never been to the Grand Ol Opry… Maybe I’ll check it out sooon.

Susan. . . the shoes. . . I didn’t wear them, of course. We just didn’t do that much where I needed to dress up and mostly what we did I needed comfort. I knew I totally overpacked!!

Leave a Reply

