In Rapid Pursuit

Way to go!

Posted on: July 1, 2008

 

For the longest time, I have heard that computers and cell phones are getting in the way of our time with God.  I have heard that we are so busy and so disconnected that we miss what he is saying.  We are never truly quiet.

Last night, as I sat in a small group, we wondered, “If that is the case, why is the church so hesitant to embrace this technology?”  Why doesn’t the church leadership embrace blogging and twitter?  What is the hesitation to build an online community? 

Well, just as I said that, our children’s pastor mentioned that she wants to start blogging.  She even wants to start a blog for the children’s activities in the church.  I LOVE HER!!  Can I just state, for the record, that I LOVE CINDY BAILEY!!  She is so awesome that it makes me want to have kids just so they can hang with her at church every weekend.  I love that she is wanting to step out of her comfort zone at an age that she could coast into retirement.  (I won’t divulge her age, but let’s just say she has 10x the energy I do!!)

Then, as I leave the meeting, I check my email to find out that Scott Woody, our multi-site pastor has started a blog.  OMG the excitement that I feel!  Let me tell you, the stories that he will tell on this blog are going to be hilarious!  I can’t wait to see how his mind works.  Actually, I’m a little scared of that!!

So, now that Scott has started his blog, prove me right!  Go over and welcome him to the community that we call blogging!  Show the skeptics that we really are forming a community here on the world wide web!!!

 

(Edit:  Now that I have posted this, I found that Cindy Bailey already set up the blog for our children’s program.  Did I mention that I love her?  Anyways, go and welcome her to blogging, as well!!)

Leave a Reply

