In Rapid Pursuit

I don’t get it!

Posted on: July 2, 2008

I have been disappointed in some of my friends lately.

I really don’t even know what to say after that.  It takes a lot to make me mad.  I don’t know that I would say that it takes a lot to disappoint me, but I usually just blow everything off.  Now I am wondering why I do that.

What is it about my personal relationships that makes me think that it is OK to be treated badly?  Professionally I am not like that at all.  And, what is it that makes me want to just let it go and not confront the person?  I would never do that at work.  Are my expectations too high?

I am learning that I don’t love myself very much.  I am also learning that I don’t think I am worth a lot, that I doubt having a lot to offer a friendship.

Now, in my head, I know I have a lot to offer, that I am totally lovable.  How do you translate that to feeling it in your heart?

7 Responses to "I don’t get it!"

Hi Tracy,

I think you are lovable and very good to your friends,
and I am glad your one of mine.

Sometimes we need to be a better friend than, our friends
are to us, life just works funny that way.

From what I hear you are a real sweetheart. If my grandsons love you, you okay with me. Brody and Kristin think you are great. They are very good friends and they are loyal, so you will always have them.

I have said this over and over, sometimes we have to choose to love some people really close, and others we need to love, way over there.

Barb

Tracy, Know that you are loved…maybe not by all, but by many, including myself. You are a great person, and I don’t know the situation but whoever it is will eventually come to their senses. Here’s a couple hugs for ya to cheer you up…OOOOOOOOO

🙂

i heart you!

JEEEZ sooooorrryyy…. If you were pissed at me just say so.

I totally know what you are feeling. I hate the feeling of being disappointed in the way a friend has treated me, because it’s like I have this expectation that they won’t intentionally hurt me, or at least think about how I might feel, and if that doesn’t happen, it’s disappointing and hard to deal with.

Like Barb said though, sometimes it’s easier to love those kinds of people at a farther distance. Because they are the type of people who aren’t thinking about how they are making other people feel.

You are a very lovable and accepting person, don’t beat yourself up!

Thanks for the encouragement, guys!

Brody. . . you always make me laugh!

Barb. . . I think that is the best advice I have ever heard! Why didn’t someone tell me that in my 20’s?

Leave a Reply

