In Rapid Pursuit

Luxury?

Posted on: July 26, 2008

While I was in dental school, I lived in Mexico for a summer.  I went, mostly, do to dental work in an orphanage in Miacatlan.

 

I was reminded tonight of how much I learned and experienced there.  One of the things that I found so hard to deal with when I got home was the children in the United States.

 

Now, I was warned I would feel this way, but it still was a little unexpected.

 

Here, not only kids, but most people are afraid of the dentist.  When I was in Mexico, there was rarely any fear seen or felt.  Mostly, I felt greatly appreciated and loved.

 

So, when we talked about dentistry tonight. . . I know. . . boring. . . I wondered why someone else had the same experience I did.  She talked about how she helped with dentistry where there was no anesthesia.  And, she mentioned that the people were so thankful and appreciative.

 

Then, she said something so profound to me.  I asked, “Why is it that we are so afraid of the dentist in the United States and there are people who are having work done that is painful and they are so appreciative?”  She answered “We have the luxury of being afraid.”

 

Thoughts???

7 Responses to "Luxury?"

wow… so true.

huh, never really thought about it like that. I’m not scared of the dentist, but last time i went the lady wouldn’t stop talking about nasty tooth diseases.

I would rather hear a long drawn out story about HotDogs and Woopy Cushins.

Honestly though the “Luxury of Fear” is a great thought. I think that one is going to stick.

thanks

Tracy…not sure….Maybe, because those people feel pain a lot more than we do, and they have grown accustomed to it? I know you and I chatted about my visit before I came to see you, and you know my fears…Guess I haven’t suffered enough pain to know what it’s really like.

@randy. . . you said it best, this is going to stick.

I think that they just don’t have any other options. And, they are so thankful that they don’t see being afraid as an option.

I don’t know. . . I am still thinking about it.

Tracy, I’m sure you’re going to laugh at the first part of my comment because I’m finally realizing that it’s true…

I’m dramatic. Plain and simple. It’s sad to think that I don’t know how to fully appreciate something like being able to go to the dentist. [And a wonderful one, at that ;)]

Like one of the comments before mine, this thought is going to “stick”.

@lamatkins. . . you are dramatic???? I had no idea!

tracy, you’re sarcastic?! I had no idea!! 😉 hahaha

Leave a Reply

