In Rapid Pursuit

Leave me alone!!

Posted on: August 7, 2008

It is really hard to work with people.  DUH?!?  And, I’ll include myself in that statement.  I believe I can be difficult at times. . . !!

 

Yesterday I was reminded of this more than ever.  And, I think I took it out on one of my patients.

 

I volunteer on a team that I love.  However, that is one person that is slowly taking the joy away.  I am desperately trying not to let that happen.  I am praying for him.  Praying for wisdom.  Praying for the right things to say and the right ways to react.  I am pretty sure, though, that I am not reacting the right way or saying the right things.  I’m trying, but what I want to say is &*%#$&@*(!!!!

 

Then, there was an elderly woman convinced that we had made her pay for her crown and then wrote out a check for $1500 cash and stole it.  She’s old, OK.  But, she was mean!!  I ended up talking to her daughter and granddaughter about the situation and we ended up laughing.  I wasn’t laughing earlier, though.  The wrath of an 86-year-old woman is fierce!!!

 

But, here’s the really bad part.

 

We pray every day before we start work.  We pray that each interaction that we have with our patients is a blessing to them and us.  We pray that we treat everyone with fairness and dignity.

 

So, when I entered my room and say a guy with braids, dressed pretty ragged and talking broken English, I was done.  I totally judged him.  I completely thought that he wasn’t going to be able to pay, that he didn’t care about his teeth, that he was total trouble.

 

It was the exact opposite.

 

I began to talk about the woman who was elderly who had been so ugly to me and his story started to unfold.  He has an elderly grandmother who is senile or has Alzheimer’s.  They have taken her car because she has gotten lost.  She let a stranger into her house to turn on the TV because she couldn’t remember how to do it.  Daily life is difficult for her.  His family is trying desperately to give her some independence and let her stay in her home.  Him, his mother, and his aunt are taking turns staying with the grandmother.  He is working two jobs, cooking at O’Charley’s and Longhorn.  He wants to keep his teeth, but money and time is tight.

 

His name is Andy.  I did an exam, xray, and took a tooth out.  I did it for free.  I think I was trying to ease my guilt.  I took my bad day out on him and judged him unfairly.  He totally inspired me to be a better person and reminded me that working with people, in the end, is AWESOME!!

Leave a Reply

