In Rapid Pursuit

The more things change. . .

Posted on: August 28, 2008

The more they stay the same, right?

 

See, I was hoping not.  I was hoping that girls were nothing like me these day.  I was hoping that they were confident in themselves.  I was hoping that they dreamed huge dreams for themselves.  I was hoping that they expected the best and most from the ones they loved.

 

I never did that.  And, I am pretty sure I still don’t.  But, I have been surrounded by some pretty confident teenagers lately that have made me think the tide is turning.

 

It’s not.  That sucks!

 

Why don’t girls believe that they are beautiful?  Why don’t they believe they have a lot to offer?  Why don’t they believe that their dreams are important?

 

Why do they believe that they will never find the right person?  Why do they believe that they have to find the right person to be complete?  Why do they put their lives on hold until that person comes along?

 

I ask these questions for myself a lot.  I was hoping no one else needed the answers.  Tonight I was reminded that I am not alone.

3 Responses to "The more things change. . ."

I HEART YOU!

I was just having a conversation with a friend about how hard those early teen years are on girls. I feel for them!

Tracy, I know you are going to smack me for this one, but “women are complicated”. 🙂

With that being said, I know I can not speak from a woman’s perspective, but I can at least add this: Competition is fierce among girls. i think they are more competitive them boys, and I also believe they can hurt each other more than boys by some of the things they say to each other, etc.

Maybe I am way off here, but that’s how I think I see things when it comes to the female gender.

The best part of life is God loves us for who we are both inside and out. That is what I try to focus on being a male with issues of my own.

Leave a Reply

