In Rapid Pursuit

I miss the old me!

Posted on: September 13, 2008

I never thought I would write a post with that title.  I have loved the person that I have become and am continuing to grow in to.  HOWEVER. . . last night I was reminded of who I was.

 

I miss playing in a band.

 

STOP. . . don’t tell me I do play in a band.  I know I sing at church a lot.  It’s not the same.  And, it’s the differences that I miss.

 

I loved playing with a group of people every week.  We played music together and did life together.  We knew what the other was thinking, good and bad.  It was fun and it was crazy, at times.  It was always extremely creative!

 

This week I have been reminded of that at least twice and it has made me question what is going on in my life.  What is it about playing music in church that makes us place all these rules and regulations on it?  Why does creativity in the church culture seem really lacking?  God is the most amazing thing I could think of to sing about.  Why does it seem like we are putting him in a musical box?

3 Responses to "I miss the old me!"

[…] 15, 2008 · No Comments My friend Tracy has a great posting on her blog that hits close to home at this very moment.  I have seriously been thinking lately […]

Then, let’s start a female band, I cannot play anything,
but maybe I can learn.

I did enjoy seeing you play in Mebane a week ago.

Take care my friend

Do you ever just wake up in the morning, or well, anytime during the day and just want to be bad..? I do…….!!!

Barb

Leave a Reply

