In Rapid Pursuit

People amaze me!

Posted on: September 23, 2008

As a kid, I was always the one who said I wanted to adopt a child when I was in my 40’s.  The thought of having a kid any sooner than that just didn’t make sense to me.  My mom was appalled.  People just didn’t have kids at that age.  She was right, but I didn’t care.  I had so many plans and dreams for my life that I couldn’t see how I could manage all that I wanted to do and have a child as well.

 

Now I am close to 40.  (Did I just say that out loud?)  I am remembering that dream of mind and wondering if I want to make that a reality.  I am doubting myself and what I have to offer a child.  I am wondering if that is God’s plan.  And, if it is his plan, why am I not married?  Wouldn’t that be best for the child?

 

I am in awe of people who are so confident in God’s plan for their lives.  I am amazed at the leap of faith it takes to have a child, much less adopt a child.  I have two friends who are going through this process right now.  They amaze me and they need our help!

 

BUSH. . . what to say about him?  This guy has a kinder heart than most people I know.  It breaks for those less fortunate and applauds those who succeed.  He is uber-talented and leads the most interesting life.  I haven’t met his wife, Maris, but I imagine her as being this gentle, soft-spoken, kind woman who makes an amazing wife and will make an amazing mother.

 

Then, there’s BRIAN!  I met Brian when he was travelling with this guy.  He picked out my first Compassion child because she had an attitude just like me.  I have a feeling that Brian is one of those guys that has so much to offer and I have only scratched the surface of that.  Every time I am around him I like him more.  He is totally devoted to God and his family.  He is a great Dad, and I think a great husband.  I met his wife, Amy, briefly, on a visit to Tennessee.  I imagine her as super-woman.  She manages the kids and the house around Brian’s busy travel schedule.  Their kids are amazingly polite and have the biggest imaginations.  I love that!

 

Here’s the thing.  Both of these amazing couples are on the final paths of their journeys toward adoption, but they need our help.  Go here to check out how you can help Bush and Maris.  Go here to check out how you can help Brian and Amy with their “un-raffle.”  If you can’t help alleviate some of the cost of this process, leave them a comment to let them know you are praying for them.  They are all being obedient to God’s call in their lives.  That’s not always easy, but they have loved every minute of it.  AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

