In Rapid Pursuit

Hold on a minute!

Posted on: December 2, 2008

Have you ever made a decision and knew it was the right one?  I mean really knew?

Then those people start to come out of the woodwork.  You know the ones. . . the ones that give you their opinion on why your decision is wrong.  The ones that have the answers.  The ones that think your decision doesn’t honor God (because, clearly, you haven’t prayed enough about it).

Today I am wondering where those people are when you are working through the decision.  Where are those people when you are trying to figure out what to do and praying about it.  Are you just not opening up to people?  Are they praying silently for you not wanting to impose on your struggles.

My reaction is always to say “back off and give me a second to deal with my stuff before you come in and tell me it was wrong.”  But I am learning to resist that urge. . . thank goodness.  It’s not real productive now, is it?!?

You know, sometimes being quiet brings exactly what you need. 

Today, it came in the form of an email from a friend.  He encouraged me simply by saying that he knew I would make the right decision.  He encouraged me by saying he would put his feelings about the situation aside and trust that my decision was one that was made between me and God, with lots of prayer.  He said he would pray for me and gave me a scripture verse that has helped him during similar times.  He never once doubted me and my decision. 

For that, I am thankful!

1 Response to "Hold on a minute!"

It’s good to have friends

Leave a Reply

