In Rapid Pursuit

Let’s continue. . .

Posted on: February 8, 2009

So, I’m not back at church yet.  I have been really praying about that, but it just doesn’t feel right.

Today, however, I participated in the web campus at NewSpring Church and I led worship on the final day of a youth conference that I have helped with this weekend.  I have more questions than answers, though.

First, let’s talk about the web campus.  That was amazing in so many ways, but I must admit that it is a little weird.  I don’t know that I engaged in the worship as I would if it were live.  That was me, though.  I am more interested in about how they pull off the worship music. . . who sings, how is it arranged, the transitions, etc.  I am not sure that it will ever feel right for me to engage in the worship music via video.  However, the community was definitely there.  It was so cool to be “in church” with 350 people from 8 different countries.  People were talking and interacting.  Someone even got saved.  I LOVE that they embrace the technology and try new and unique ways to reach people that may not ever come to church.  For me, it worked!  What are your thoughts?

Then there is the youth conference.  There was definitely a power in the room this weekend.  I have never really been involved in anything where there were so many young men and women who were serious about giving their lives to God.  They were serious about serving others.  And, they were serious about praying for each other.  It was the first time I have been with 100 teenagers and not felt any clicks or groups.  That amazed me.

Tonight, however, they talked about the baptism of the Holy Spirit and speaking in tongues.  I HAVE QUESTIONS!!

So, what do you think?  Do you believe in it, first?  Do you believe that it is necessary?  Are you afraid of it?  I’m not really afraid of it and am definitely open to it, but to me, it represents all that I know as bad about Christianity.  It wreaks of bad televangelists begging for money.  It seems to say that someone who speaks in tongues is more anointed by Christ.  It appears to be one more way that we separate ourselves from people who are seeking.

It’s hard to erase the weird thoughts that you have had for so long.  It’s hard to believe in things that are different.  Tonight, however, I am thankful for all of those kids.  I am thankful for all of the hands they placed on me.  I am thankful for all of the prayers they spoke for me.  I am thankful for the love and kindness they showed me.

4 Responses to "Let’s continue. . ."

Hey Tracy, Let’s start off with 1 Corinthians 14

27If anyone speaks in a tongue, two—or at the most three—should speak, one at a time, and someone must interpret. 28If there is no interpreter, the speaker should keep quiet in the church and speak to himself and God.

Read the whole chapter to get the gist of what is being said about it.

It freaks me out too, but if churches follow what is being said in this chapter there should be nothing more discussed about it. The problem therein lies that most churches do not do the interpreation thing, therefore, is it real? Is it over the top? Shoudl they be doing it at all? Is it a HOAX when you walk into a church that does it but does not interpret? Great questions huh?

Anyway. Read what you can about it and make the decision based on what the holy spirit tells you. I know Eric Allred could tell you a lot about it. He comes from that background, and he also said he has done it. (And still does it).

I miss you! I hope you come back soon! I’m praying for you! *HUGS*

idk if this will confuse you more or help..
That chapter in corinthians is describing the outspoken message from God through a man/woman.. for which there should be an interpreter.
This sort of tongue is spoken loudly out in church and there is an interpreter that will speak, a prophetic/encouraging message to the community. this happens occasionally in our church actually. It’s a really beautiful event in which God is speaking to you. I’ve had my heart melted on many occasions by an interpretation of a tongue.

but there is another type of tongue that is not meant to be spoken allowed. this tongue is a prayer tongue in which is solely meant for you and God. Its your spirit seeking and crying out for Gods will to be done and praising God in the language of heaven.

the first tongue is a spiritual gift given to certain people. the second is a promise for all believers.

as far as the comment on bad televangelists i have to agree. there are people who have very successfully make tongues very controversial. but there are people out there who have it right and use it correctly. i believe if you do things in love you cannot go wrong. and that belief shapes my prayer language. I do it because i love God and i love the intimate times i have with the Spirit through praying in my tongue.

@bryan. . . thanks for those words. i have never heard it explained like that. i am always up for things that are new and there is definitely more about God and the Bible that i don’t know than there is that i do know. again, there was a power in the room that i could not deny. i wonder if i would feel that if i went to a taping of one of those tv shows? that would be interesting to see.

no problem. yeah i’d definitely like to go see what’s going on at some of those shows myself. sometimes thats the only way to know.

but those televangelists who spend their whole time preaching prosperity make me a little sick. those caught in prosperity doctrine have definitely missed the point.

Leave a Reply

